Haikasoru

viz.com

Space Opera. Dark Fantasy. Hard Science.
What is Haikasoru?
Our Books

Catherynne M. Valente [Archive]

THE FUTURE IS JAPANESE cleans up on the Locus Recommended Reading List!

The latest issue of Locus Magazine is out and it includes their annual recommended reading list. And we’re all over it!

The Future Is Japanese is listed in the category of Original Anthologies, and five of our stories also appear on the list:

Novelette (basically stories between 7500 and 15,000 words or thereabouts):
‘‘Goddess of Mercy’’, Bruce Sterling (The Future Is Japanese)
‘‘The Sea of Trees’’, Rachel Swirsky (The Future Is Japanese)

Short Story (under 7500 words):
‘‘Mono No Aware’’, Ken Liu (The Future Is Japanese)
‘‘Chitai Heiki Koronbin’’, David Moles (The Future Is Japanese)
‘‘One Breath, One Stroke’’, Catherynne M. Valente (The Future Is Japanese)

In the current issue of Locus itself, there is some great discussion of the book by various critics. In addition to praising the stories on the list, Karen Burnham had this to say: I particularly enjoyed the stories by Ken Liu and Rachel Swirsky (both of whom continue to produce fantastic stories in a wide variety of venues), but the one that surprised me the most was ‘‘Autogenic Dreaming: Interview with the Columns of Clouds’’ by TOBI Hirotaka. I had no idea where that story was going, and in the end it was very thoughtful. Several other reviewers also mentioned our book in their recaps!

The recommended reading list will soon become a survey, and if you liked our book and the stories therein we hope you’ll vote for us! We’ll update you when it’s time, and do follow us on Twitter and Facebook if you like!

The Future Is Japanese, We Like To Brag

Hello all, and Happy New Year! Sorry for the lack of blogging, but we’ve been busy with some exciting new projects. But now, we’d like to take a moment to brag about one of our exciting old projects: our anthology The Future Is Japanese.


Try to act surprised when the future actually turns out to be Japanese.

In addition to the book getting great reviews on its own, we’re thrilled that three of its stories were selected for reprinting in three different Years Best anthologies.

Jonathan Strahan’s The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume 7 will reprint “Mono No Aware” by Ken Liu.

Rich Horton’s The Year’s Best Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2013 Edition will reprint “One Breath, One Stroke” by Catherynne M. Valente.

And Gardner Dozois’s Year’s Best Science Fiction, Thirtieth Annual Collection will be reprinting “Chitai Heiki Koronbin” by David Moles.

Not too shabby! Heck, if you buy our book you can read all three stories, plus other great ones.

The 2012 Haikasoru Holiday Shopping Guide

It’s nearly year’s end, and so we thought we might write about our 2012 titles, and how they’ll make great presents for your loved ones. Or, you know, for yourself. We won’t tell.

Do you or any of your friends or relatives love Godzilla? Ultraman? H. P. Lovecraft? Mythology? The TV show The Office? The zany pseudosciences of UFOs, Bigfoot and other cryptids, and such like that? Get them a copy of MM9 by Hiroshi Yamamoto. This book combines office hijinks with ancient monsters and some quick scientific thinking. It was also a TV show in Japan:

Also, check out the show’s closing credits:

It’s a very fun book, and a breeze to read despite the scientific speculations.

For fans of Haruki Murakami, Jorge Luis Borges, or magical realism in general, check out The Navidad Incident by Natsuki Ikezawa. The fantasy element here is light, but strange—there’s a ghost and a mysteriously busy runaway bus. This book is a sort of genre-in-the-mainstream title about the politics of the developing world in the postcolonial era. And hardcover books make for wonderful gifts. Finally, the title! Navidad, get it?

Any hardcore SF fan who wants to keep up with the new writers in the field needs a copy of our anthology The Future Is Japanese. Ken Liu’s short story “Mono No Aware” has already been selected for reprinting in an annual best-of anthology, and this book also features stories by Catherynne M. Valente, Ekateria Sedia, and top Japanese writers including Project Itoh and Issui Ogawa. The anthology got a starred review in Publishers Weekly and is acclaimed generally. If you or yours are interested in the field of SF at all, this book is for you.

Got any gamers in your family or social circle? Metal Gear Solid: Guns of the Patriots by Project Itoh is what they need. More than just a novelization by some hack, Itoh was both a hardcore fan of the Metal Gear series and one of Japan’s leading science fiction novelists. This novel is a tribute to the game.

Speaking of one of Japan’s leading science fiction novelists, Project Itoh’s Genocidal Organ is my personal favorite of the year. It’s military SF, it’s about the power of memes—not cat pictures from the Internet, but ideas and how the flit from brain to brain—and it’s a wickedly dark comedy. For fans of Itoh’s Harmony, this book details the “Maelstrom” that leads to the Utopian society of that novel. Speaking of, check out the Hungarian book trailer for Harmony:

Any friend or family member interested in the work of contemporary military SF writers like David Drake or John Scalzi, or the satirical flourishes of Kurt Vonnegut, should check out Genocidal Organ and Harmony.

Belka, Why Don’t You Bark? by Hideo Furukawa is for dog-lovers, history buffs, space buffs, and lovers of fine literature. What other book combines the secret lives of dogs with the drama of the Space Race and the world-changing events of the Cold War? No other novel, of course! Have you seen the author’s passionate readings? We’ve made two videos:

and

These really sum up the book in a way a blog post cannot.

Finally, out today, is Virus by Sakyo Komatsu. Komatsu is a true grandmaster of Japanese SF—he’s the author of the famed Japan Sinks, and this classic from the 1960s is a SF disaster thriller of the sort that Michael Crichton used to write. It’s a hardcover, so naturally an excellent present—if you or anyone for whom you are buying a gift loves the genreish/mainstreamish thrillers of Crichton of Stephen King or Tom Clancy (Virus includes a lot of scientific and military information) this is the book to buy this month.

So get shopping!

And now, the table of contents for THE FUTURE IS JAPANESE!

It’s been a long while, but we’ve finally settled on a table of contents for our forthcoming anthology The Future is Japanese.

We have cyberpunk legends, bestselling authors, Hugo and Nebula and Seiun Award nominees and winners, amazing fantasists and some great new authors too. With no further ado, check it out:

“Mono No Aware” by Ken Liu

“The Sound of Breaking Up” by Felicity Savage

“Chitai Heiki Koronbīn” by David Moles

“The Indifference Engine” by Project Itoh

“The Sea of Trees” by Rachel Swirsky

“Endoastronomy” by Toh EnJoe

“In Plain Sight” by Pat Cadigan

“Golden Bread” by Issui Ogawa

“One Breath, One Stroke” by Catherynne M. Valente

“Whale Meat” by Ekaterina Sedia

“Mountain People, Ocean People” by  Hideyuki Kikuchi

“Goddess of Mercy” by Bruce Sterling

“Autogenic Dreaming: Interview with the Columns of Clouds” by TOBI Hirotaka

Check back here next week for a full book page and more fun news!


Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS)

HOME | ABOUT VIZ MEDIA | ADVERTISE | TERMS | PRIVACY POLICY

© 2009 VIZ Media, LLC